Book Haul #1

book haul 01

 

Over the last few months I have acquired a few books that I’d like to share with you. Three of them are in English, and three of them are in Slovak, because I’ve noticed I’ve only been reading in English lately. It has really affected my verbal skills, I can’t even communicate properly in Slovak anymore! So I convinced myself to get some books in my mother tongue to make Mr. Ľudovít Štúr proud. 🙂 (He’s the codifier of our language.)

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – got it because of the rave reviews and because I finally found this beautiful blue cover.
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I don’t know one person that didn’t love this book. I have yet to read it and I can’t wait. (And yes, I’m prepared to cry.)
Divergent by Veronica Roth – already read this one and loved it! [Review coming soon]
[SVK] Klub bitkárov / Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk – I’m one of those people that have never read the book and never even saw the film.
[SVK] Nočný cirkus / The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern – this has great reviews and I’ve been wanting to read it for three years, I think it’s finally time.
[SVK] Dcéra dymu a kosti / Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor – currently reading this one and thouroughly enjoying it! It’s like nothing I’ve ever read!

So these are all the books that I bought. I’m thinking of doing a “library haul” too, because I got 10 books from the library recently… I know, books are my obsession, but I’m perfectly fine with it. 🙂

Fun fact: have you noticed in the picture that both Laini Taylor and Erin Morgenstern have ‘-ová‘ added to their last names? In Slovakia (and Czech Republic, and Russia and probably a few other countries, too), it’s a way of differentiating female names from male ones. As you might have noticed, men don’t have names ending in -ová, it’s basically a suffix we add only to women’s names. It’s a pretty common thing here, but it must be kind of strange for people from other countries.

Anyway, I hope you have a lovely day and let me know if you’ve read any of these books! 

 

 

One thought on “Book Haul #1

  1. Divergent, The Book Thief, and Outlander are all fantastic books. Each touching on different topics but all written in the most amazing ways. Divergent is great escapism, while Outlander and Book Thief give you insight into a time that happened in our world.
    Great picks, is basically what I’m trying to say with this long winded comment. XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

