T5W // Favorite Things About BookTube + Bookblogging

I decided to join the T5W* club! I am well aware that I’m posting this on a Thursday which doesn’t quite go with the “Top 5 Wednesday” title, but bear with me, I’m currently starting at a new job so everything’s a bit of a mess right now.

*Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly discussion “tag” on various topics, it was created by Lainey and here’s the Goodreads group for T5W if you wanna join!

So, here are my Top 5 Favorite Things About BookTube / Bookblogging:

  1. We’re all booklovers here.
    Not everyone loves books. Weird, I know. But it’s true. Not everyone reads books, not everyone collects and appreciates them. This is all fine, I don’t judge these people (well, ok, a little) but if you yourself are a huge lover of books and you’re surrounded with these non-book-loving people, it can get a little lonely and frustrating. So it’s wonderful that you can still be a part of a community that understands you and you truly feel that you belong.
  2. Discovering new books & authors.
    My TBR has drastically increased ever since I discovered the book blogosphere and BookTube, but I don’t see that as a bad thing. Au contraire, among these TBR additions, I have found countless books that have immediately moved to my Favorites shelf. Plus, I’ve discovered so many amazing new authors!
  3. Becoming more open minded and expanding my horizons.
    This might sound a little strange but let me explain what I mean by this. Since I follow so many different book-people online, their reviews, their recommendations, etc., I started to reach out to certain genres that might never have interested me before. Also, with these different opinions I try to look at things from new points of view and, for instance, ever since I watched Ariel’s amazing video, I actually want to annotate my books now!
  4. Reading more.
    I used to be a rather slow reader and read maybe one book a month if I was in the mood. But now I read at least several books each month and I absolutely love it!
  5. The community.
    And last but not least, the people here. They’re awesome! Since this community is based on sharing something that each of us loves, I don’t really see a lot of hate, which is kind of unusual on the internet. It’s like a breath of fresh air. Everyone just seems excited about books and reading and there’s so much positivity here.

 

Feel free to share with me your favorite things about this book loving community! 

signature heart

Leave a Reply

