My Bookmark Collection

pic01

I’m a lover of books, as well as bookmarks. And since I’m usually reading multiple books at the same time, I need multiple bookmarks, not just one. These are some of the ones I use most often. Some of these are bought, some gifted, and some I made myself. And quite frankly, my absolute favorite one is actually my very first DIY bookmark (which looks pretty rough by now, but only because it’s been well-loved. 🙂 )

 

pic 01

  1. // RANDOM
    I’m starting out with these ones. Two of them are from libraries – one is from the library in my hometown, the other one (JSTOR) is from the library at my college. Nothing very artistic or interesting about them, they were simply giving them to everyone.
    The “Croatia” one is from our last vacation in Croatia. It was surprisingly pretty expensive for a bookmark, plus, it’s wooden and quite thick, so I don’t even know whether I’m actually gonna use it or not… But at least it’s some kind of a bookish souvenir.pic 02
  2. // BOOK DEPOSITORY
    I became addicted to buying books from Book Depository. The free shipping, reasonable prices, and the fact that they include a free bookmark in every purchase, is only strengthening my addiction. Plus, recently, they’ve been sending these coloring bookmarks which makes it all the more enjoyable! I have quite a few of these – some I gave to my little brother to color, and some are still on their way here with my most recent purchases.pic 03
  3. // BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH
    This bookmark of Bendystraws Cuminpacks photobombing was a gift from my best friend. It made me chuckle, especially with that text on it. It also looks pretty awesome sticking out from a book on my shelf, haha.pic 04
    pic 05
  4. // DIY
    And lastly, I have my favorites – my DIY bookmarks. I have a lot of creative energy, so I constantly feel the need to make something from scratch. And so I started to make my own bookmarks.
    The brownish one, I made about 6 years ago, it was the very first one that I made. And it’s my favorite to use ever since. I made it, funnily enough, by completely destroying another book – my dad’s old English textbook. But it was in a very desolate state even then, so I was only putting it to another use, if you will. I simply cut out some pictures and texts from it, made it into a collage and glued everything together on a piece of thicker paper.
    The blue one I made during my nail-art phase. I used to decorate (or destroy, depends how you look at it) everything with nail polish. Keys, jars, and even bookmarks. The roses on this bookmark are made with nail polish. Now it has a nice, textured look to it.
    Those of you who watch BBC’s Sherlock, are probably familiar with the black and white ones. It’s the famous wallpaper from Sherlock’s flat. 🙂

 

This is my humble, but growing collection of bookmarks. 
Thank you for reading. ♥ 
How are you with bookmarks?
Do you use them, or do you end up using random scraps of paper?

signature heart

Leave a Reply

