September 2016 WRAP-UP

september-wrapup

 

Hello there!

Today, I’m bringing you my September reading wrap-up, i.e. all that I’ve read in the month of September. I read 4 books in total. Which is not a lot, but I have already surpassed my Goodreads Reading Challenge for this year, so I consider this whole reading year a success already, haha.

This month has been a “Classics” month for me. Maybe it is because of all the Back to School influence on the internet, even though my school hasn’t started yet. But I guess I was in the mood for some classics, for something intellectual.

pycha-a-predsudokFirst, I read Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. (In Slovak: Pýcha a Predsudok)
This was probably my fourth time reading this book. I read it in Slovak and afterwards, I re-read some of my favorite chapters in English. I just can’t help it, I absolutely love this book! (Also, I got two English copies of Pride and Prejudice this month because I didn’t own any… I guess book haul is coming soon, haha)
The book cover pictured here is the beautiful edition by Slovart – a popular publishing house here in Slovakia. They really did a great job with these covers! ♥

 

 

laska-slecny-elliottovejI guess I was really feeling Jane Austen, because the second book I read was Persuasion. (In Slovak: Láska slečny Elliotovej)
This was my first time reading Persuasion, and I really enjoyed it! The only copy of this book I own is the Dover Thrift edition, which I call my “study copy” – I allow myself to write in the margins, underline my favorite quotes and passages, basically I don’t have to be careful with this one because I’m definitely planning to get myself a nicer copy in the future. I read this one exactly like Pride and Prejudice – first I read it in Slovak and then I read some parts in English.

 

a-christmas-carolAnother classic I read, was A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.
Who doesn’t love Dickens? His characters, his enormous yet engrossing plots, his talent for portraying and describing anything and everything – who wouldn’t love that? Of course for many, the off-putting quality about his works is their huge length, but this one was a very short story about Christmas and their true meaning.

 

 

 

aristotle-and-dante-discover-the-secrets-of-the-9781442408937_hrAnd finally, I read Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin A. Saenz.
And by finally, I mean – FINALLY! This one has been sitting on my desk for several months, waiting to be read. And I finally read it this month. But to be honest, for the hype it got, I expected much more… But I’ll save it for my review.

 

So there it is – the books I managed to read in September. 
What have you been reading these past few weeks? 

signature heart

 

 

2 thoughts on “September 2016 WRAP-UP

Leave a Reply

