The Autumn Reading Tag

Hello there!

Recently, Jen Campbell made a video tag about Autumn reading plans, which I found very interesting, so I am now doing it in the form of a blogpost. Feel free to answer these questions yourself, either in the comments or on your own blog!

So, make yourself a nice hot cup of tea, sit back and enjoy!

autumn-reading-tag

 

1) Are there any books you plan on reading over the Autumn season?

Well, I’m in the middle of a Jane Austen “read-along”, so I plan on finishing Northanger Abbey. After that, I have to decide which specific books I want to read next, because I got quite a lot from the library and there is no way I will be able to read all of them in the course of one month (that is for how long they lend you books in my local library), so I will have to pick some. Either Hopeless by Coleen Hoover, or a very popular Slovak fantasy series The Adventures of Captain Bathory, which is definitely a commitment, because it is a very long series…

autumn-divider

2) September brings back to school memories: what book did you most enjoy studying? And what were your favourite and least favourite school subjects?

I could choose a few different books to answer this question, but to pick the main one: I especially loved Bleak House by  Charles Dickens when we were studying it in college. I remember that I fell in love with Dickens’ characters and his enormous, well thought out plots that somehow always made sense in the end.
Another one that I really enjoyed in school was Anne of Green Gables, which we read in sixth grade. This was the first book that made me fall in love with literature and reading in general, and I have re-read it quite a few times since then. Anne Shirley, with her sincere kindheartedness and wild imagination, is definitely one of my favorite protagonists in literature in general.

autumn-divider

3) October means Halloween: do you enjoy scary books and films? If so what are some of your favourites?

To be honest, I am a huge wuss when it comes to scary stuff. I scare very easily, I have a crazy imagination, and even though I’m 23 years old, I often get scared in the dark, too.  Which is funny because I also regularly work night shifts in a hotel, where I am completely alone and it gets pretty scary for me sometimes. I don’t know why I agreed to this job… (Btw, this is why I can’t read The Shining right now, even though I really want to – I hear it takes place in a haunted hotel?! Nope, not reading that while I work there!) So, given that I avoid these types of books – no, I don’t have a favorite scary book. But, I can share with you my absolute favorite movie that could be considered eerie. Donnie Darko. Phenomenal!

autumn-divider

4) With November it’s time for bonfire night & firework displays. What’s the most exciting book you’ve read that really kept you gripped?

It’s old news, but Gone Girl was definitely one. But also, more recently, The Girl in The Ice by Robert Bryndza was something I could not put down until I found out what exactly happened and who was behind it! I definitely recommend this book and the whole series to everyone.

autumn-divider

5) What book is your favorite cosy comfort read?

Harry Potter! I mean, what other answer is there?! For our generation, at least. In this time of year I always re-read Harry Potter (accompanied with watching the movies, of course) and it just makes me feel so calm, so at home. Yes, it also reminds me of my childhood, but its not only the nostalgia that makes me appreciate Harry Potter books. It’s the way it’s written, and the amazing and complex wizarding world we’re thrown into, and the wonderful cozy feeling Rowling managed to create in the first, more children-appropriate books.

autumn-divider

6) Curled up with a good book, what is your hot drink of choice?

Honestly, it depends on the book itself. If it’s fiction, and a fun read for me, I love drinking hot chocolate while reading. But if it’s something about productivity, or something I’m reading for study purposes, I like to drink coffee with it, because it puts me in a different mindset, and makes me more alert.

autumn-divider

 

Would you like to do this tag as well?
Feel free to share your answers with me!

Thank you for reading!

signature heart

 

Leave a Reply

